Current Temperature


May 21, 2024 May 21, 2024

St. Mary School celebrates year’s best athletes

Posted on June 26, 2019 by Taber Times

By Greg Price
Taber Times

St. Mary School help put a punctuation on its 2018/2019 school year with its athletic awards banquet last Wednesday.

Headlining the major awards were the Brother Beaudoin Athletes of the Year for both the senior and junior high classes.

For senior high, Carl Rodrigo took top honours for the boys, with Hallie Horvath winning for the girls. On the junior high end, it was Preslee Muller for the girls and Nash Sta Maria for the boys.

Horvath also earned Academic Athlete of the Year.

There were a handful of athletes both in the senior and junior ranks that were recognized with medals for their multi-sport involvement. They included Beau Huseby (five sport), Seth Muller (five sport), Jack Murphy (five sport), Brendan Appleton (five sport), Hallie Horvath (four sport), Nicole Wolaniuk (four sport), Erik Grimson (four sport), Preslee Muller (four sport), Makayla Schwarz (four sport) and Evan Untereiner (four sport).

The following is a full list of ward winners in the various sports programs that St. Mary School had to offer in the 2018/2019 academic school year, as provided by the school:

Senior Golf: No Award.

Junior Cross Country: Kellen Lauwen (Top Performance).

Senior Cross Country: Beau Huseby (Top Performance).

Gr 6 Volleyball: No award recognition of team.

JV Girls Volleyball: Makenna Deheer (MVP). Makayla Schwarz (Most Improved). Ainsley Duell (Hustle Award).

SV Girls Volleyball: Preslee Muller (MVP). Sam Pacleb (MVP). Allison Planger (Most Improved).

JV Boys Volleyball: Matt Gensorek (MVP). Connor Klok (Most Dedicated). Erik Grimson (Hustle Award).

SV Boys Volleyball: No Team

JV Auroras Volleyball: Kourtney Bos (MVP). Rachel Gouw (MVP). Katie Gregus (Coach Award). Alex Clingman (Most Improved).

SV Auroras Volleyball: Alyssa Pavka (MVP). Emily Ginther (Sportsmanship). Kourtney Bos (Most Improved).

Celtics Volleyball: Tyrell Martens (Most Improved). Carter Hendricks (Coach’s Award).

Gr 6 Boys Basketball: No Award – Recognition of Team.

JV Girls Basketball: Ainsley Duell (Most Dedicated). McKenzie Siemens (Hustle Award). Chol Met-Kurjock (Most Improved). Logan Meier (Most Improved).

SV Girls Basketball: No team.

JV Boys Basketball: Erik Grimson (Most Dedicated). Kyler Marchuk (Coach’s Award). Kaden Gross (MVP).

SV Boys Basketball: Ashton Lukacs (Coach’s Award). Nash Sta Maria (MVP).

Auroras Basketball: Kourtney Bos (MVP). Hallie Horvath (Coach Award). Mackenzie Baynham (Most Improved). Jaiden Cranston (Hustle Award).

JV Celtics Basketball: Beau Huseby (Top Defensive Player). Nathan Dyck (Most Improved).

Celtics Basketball: Carl Rodrigo (MVP). Tyrell Martens (Top Offensive Player). Carter Hendricks (Best All Around). Seth Muller (Most Improved).

SMS Curling: No award – team recognition.

Auroras Slo-Pitch: Alyssa Pavka (MVP). Britney Medina (Most Improved). Emily Ginther (Leadership/Sportsmanship Award).

Junior Badminton: Preslee Muller (Top Performance). Nash Sta Maria (Top Performance).

Senior Badminton: Jack Murphy (Top Performance). Joseph Reyes (Most Dedicated Team). Steven Montemayor (Most Dedicated Team).

Junior Track: Kaden Gross (Top Performance).

Senior Track: Beau Huseby (Top Performance).

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe