Current Temperature


May 21, 2024 May 21, 2024

St. Mary’s athletes shine

Posted on June 20, 2018 by Taber Times
TROPHY CASE: Both Leila Pacleb and Mason Muller racked up plenty of different awards during St. Mary’s School athletic awards last week, one of which included the high school Brother Beaudoin Athlete of the Year Award. TIMES PHOTO BY COLE PARKINSON

St. Mary’s School held its atheltic awards banquet last Wednesday, celebrating its various programs from the 2017/2018 season in both its junior high and senior high ranks.

The following are a list of the big winners as submitted by the school:

Senior X-Country: Herman Wiebe (Top Performance)
Mason Muller (Top Performance)

JV Girls Volleyball: Cadence Bell (Most Improved Player)
Makenna Deheer (Sportsmanship)
Sam Pacleb (Best Defensive Player)

Grade 8 Girls Volleyball: Preslee Muller (MVP)
Jocelyn Planger (Coach Award)
Morgan Boersma (Coach Award)
Haley Lagler (Most Improved)

Senior Varsity Girls Volleyball: Kourtney Bos (MVP)
Rachel Gouw (MVP)
Katie Gregus (Most Dedicated/Hustle Award)

Senior Varsity Boys Volleyball: Beau Huseby (MVP)
Carter Hendricks (MVP)
Joseph Reyes (Most Improved)
Jack Murphy (Hustle Award)

Senior Varsity Auroras Volleyball: Leila Pacleb (Coach Award)
Kaitlyn Bos (Coach Award)

Celtics Volleyball: Mason Muller (MVP)
Jobert Cruz (MVP)
Rory Murphy (Coach Award)

Junior Varsity Girls Basketball: Sam Pacleb (MVP)
Mikaela Schwarz (Best Defensive Player)
Felicity Johnston (Most Improved)

Senior Varsity Girls Basketball: Kourtney Bos (Best Offensive Player)
Allyson Ginther (Best Defensive Player)
Mackenzie Baynham (Hustle Award)
Neah Salazar (Most Improved)

Junior Varsity Boys Basketball: Nash Sta Maria (MVP)
Dion Velarde (Most Improved)
Kyle Weinberger (Coach Award)

Senior Varsity Boys Baketball: Carter Hendricks (Best All-Around)
Sloane Dube (Most Dedicated)
Max Nevil (Best Offensive)
Beau Huseby (Best Defensive)

Auroras Basketball: Leila Pacleb (MVP)
Christine Agravante (Best Defensive)
Nicole Wolaniuk (Best Offensive)
Hallie Horvath (Hustle)

Senior Badminton: Cheri Payongayong (Top Performance)
Christine Agravante (Top Performance)

Junior Badminton: Steven Montemayor (Top Performance)
Ashlee Palean (Top Performance)

Senior Track: Mason Muller (Top Performance)

Junior Track: Morgan Boersma (Top Performance)

Senior High/Junior High Medals: 6 Sport (medals) Seth Muller
6 Sport (medals) Beau Huseby
6 Sport (medals) Mason Muller
6 Sport (medals) Jobert Cruz

5 Sport (medals) Jack Murphy
5 Sport (medals) Kenzie Pyne
5 Sport (medals) Brendan Appleton
5 Sport (medals) Alyssa Pavka
5 Sport (medals) Colton Weinberger

4 Sport (medals) Nicole Wolaniuk
4 Sport (medals) Ashton Lukacs
4 Sport (medals) Hallie Horvath
4 Sport (medals) Sam Pacleb
4 Sport (medals) Herman Wiebe
4 Sport (medals) Neah Salazar
4 Sport (medals) Jocelyn Planger
4 Sport (medals) Preslee Muller

Academic Athlete: Kaitlin Bos

Brother Beaudoin Athlete of the Year: Mason Muller and Leila Pacleb

Storm Player of the Year: Beau Huseby

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe