Current Temperature


May 30, 2024 May 30, 2024

St. Mary’s hands out athletic hardware

Posted on June 21, 2017 by Taber Times
SCHOOL STARS: Hallie Horvath and Seth Muller show off their respective Athlete of the Year awards for high school and junior high respectively at St. Mary’s School. TIMES PHOTO BY GREG PRICE

By Greg Price
Taber Times

St. Mary’s School honoured its student athletes in its various junior and senior high athletic programs for the 2016/2017 year.

The following are a list of both the minor and major awards that were issued last week:

Senior Golf: Tyson Phillips (Most Dedicated). Linden Gouw (Most Dedicated).

Senior Cross Country: Kaleb Muller (Top Performance). Mason Muller (Top Performance).

Storm Junior Varsity Girls Volleyball: Jocelyn Planger (MVP). Allyson Planger (Sportsmanship).
Haley Lagler (Hustle).

Grade 8 Girls Volleyball: Preslee Muller (MVP). Charissa Bueckert (Sportsmanship). Jazzy Rombough (Most Improved).

Storm Senior Varsity Girls Volleyball: Alyssa Pavka (MVP). Hallie Horvath (Hustle Award). Nicole Wolaniuk (Best Defensive). Katie Gregus (Most Improved). Rachel Gouw (Most Improved).

Storm Junior Varsity Boys Volleyball: Brant Allen (Coach’s Award). Jack Murphy (Leadership Award).

Storm Senior Varsity Boys Volleyball: Seth Muller (Best All Around). Carter Hendricks (Coach’s Award). Jeff Cabrera (Most Improved).

Junior Varsity Auroras Volleyball: Emily Ginther (Most Improved). Brittney Bartosek (MVP). Kaitlyn Bos (Best Defensive).

Senior Varsity Auroras Volleyball: Rae-Anne Vayro (MVP). Brittney Bartosek (Hustle Award). Kennadi Bodnar (Best Defensive). Jordan Baynham (Best Offensive).

Celtics Volleyball: Mason Muller (MVP). Kaleb Muller (MVP). Clayton Bueckert (Most Dedicated).
Storm Junior Varsity Girls Basketball: Quinlyn Bell (MVP). Kourtney Bos (Best Offensive). Brittney Medina (Hustle Award). Mackenzie Baynham (Most Improved).

Storm Senior Varsity Girls Basketball: Michaela Meldrum (Most Improved). Nicole Wolaniuk (Hustle Award). Reyvan Unser (Most Dedicated).

Storm Junior Varsity Boys Basketball: Luke Bell (MVP). Joseph Bell (Sportsmanship). Beau Huseby (Coach Award). Jack Murphy (Best Defensive).

Storm Senior Varsity Boys Basketball: Emmanuel Adra (MVP). Carter Hendricks (MVP). Beau Huseby (Best Defensive).

Auroras Basketball: Jessie Braun (Most Dedicated). Christine Agravante (Best Defensive). Leila Pacleb (Best Offensive). Emily Ginther (Hustle Award).

Celtics Basketball: Jobert Cruz (MVP). Cobe Cobarrubius (Most Improved). Herman Wiebe (Coach’s Award).

Senior Badminton: Landon French (Top Male Performance). Cherilene Payongayong (Top Female Performance). Leila Pacleb (Top Female Performance).

Junior Badminton: Steven Montemayor (Coach Award). Brittney Medina (Top Female Performance). Jack Murphy (Top Male Performance).

Senior Track: Herman Wiebe (Top Performance).

Junior Track: Morgan Boersma (Top Performance). Hallie Horvath (Top Performance).

Major Awards

Five Sport Junior and Senior High: Kaleb Muller, Hallie Horvath, Mason Muller, Beau Huseby, Rory Murphy, Preslee Muller, Tyson Phillips, Seth Muller, Spencer Phillips, Jack Murphy, Alyssa Pavka, Neah Salazar, Kenzie Pyne and Carlee Lagler.

Four Sport: Leila Pacleb , Charissa Bueckert, Jobert Cruz, Haley Lagler, Steven Montemayor, Mackenzie Baynham and Nicole Wolaniuk.

Academic Athlete of the Year: Kaitlyn Bos, Carl Rodrigo.

Brother Beaudoin Athlete of the Year: Kaleb Muller and Rae-Anne Vayro.

Storm Player of the Year: Seth Muller and Hallie Horvath.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe