Current Temperature


July 24, 2024 July 24, 2024

W.R. Myers honours its student athletes

Posted on June 15, 2016 by Taber Times
Times photo submitted

The following is a list of the 2015/2016 Athletic Awards winners for W.R. Myers:

Major Award Winners: Blake Bullock (Grade 12 Male Athlete of the Year). Hayley LePard and Keegan Brantner (Grade 12 Female Athlete of the Year). Michael Johnson (Grade 11 Male Athlete of the Year). Millay Johnson and Genna Wright (Grade 11 Female Athlete of the Year). Cole Layton (Grade 10 Male Athlete of the Year). Shantelle Bennett (Grade 10 Female Athlete of the Year). Brett Andrus (Grade 9 Male Athlete of the Year). Dani Wright (Grade 10 Female Athlete of the Year). Lewis LeRay (Male Academic Athlete of the Year.) Paige Wood (Female Academic Athlete of the Year). Kenney Wood (Coach of the Year).

Team Award Winners: Golf – Andrew Makarchuk (Lowest Net Score), Keegan Brantner (REBEL Award).

Cross Country – Dylan Johnson (Top Male Runner), Sonja Mellema (Top Female Runner).

Tier I Girls Volleyball – Torrance Gedny (MVP), Sophie Simek and Makayla Chapple (REBEL Award).

Tier I Boys Volleyball – Christian Manahan (MVP).

JV Girls Volleyball – Makenna Leismeister (MVP), Madison Schimpf (Most Improved Player), Adrien Addy (REBEL Award).

JV Boys Volleyball – Denver Terry and Ethan Shortinghuis (All-Star), Cole Layton (MVP).

Varsity Girls Volleyball – Hayley LePard (Coaches Award), Paige Wood (Most Coachable Player), Natalie Hoyt (Most Improved Player).

Varsity Boys Volleyball – Brendan Olson and Henry Wolf (All-Star), Michael Johnson (MVP).

Football – Blake Bullock (MVP), Taylor Blacquier (Defensive Player of the Year), Ryan Mankow (Rookie of the Year).

Wrestling – Kathrin Waeckerlin (Wrestler of the Year), Peter Waeckerlin (Rookie of the Year).

Tier I Girls Basketball – Anika Steed (MVP), Makayla Chapple (Most Improved Player), Sophie Simek (Coaches Award).

Tier I Boys Basketball – Brett Andrus (MVP), Riley Andrus (Heart and Hustle), Eric Loewen (Most Improved Player).

JV Girls Basketball – Shaylyn Richard (MVP), Shantelle Bennett (Coaches Award).

JV Boys Basketball – Cole Layton (MVP), Brayden Mitchell (Most Improved Player), Dylan Johnson (Heart and Hustle).

Varsity Girls Basketball – Hayley LePard and Millay Johnson (MVP), Paige Wood (REBEL Award).

Varsity Boys Basketball – Blake Bullock (MVP), Josh Mouland (Heart and Hustle), Michael Johnson (Most Improved Player).

Badminton – Shantelle Bennett and Dakota Huddlestun (Most Outstanding Player), Scott Loewen (Most Improved Player), Sonja Mellema (REBEL Award).

Baseball – Brady Pavka (Defensive MVP), Brady Garner (Most Improved Player), Carter Clarke (Most Dedicated Player).

Varsity Girls Rugby – Maren Jensen (Most Outstanding Forward), Tiffani Olsen (Most Outstanding Back), Paige Wood (Captains Award).

Junior Varsity Girls Rugby – Jenna Jonker (Most Outstanding Forward), Reagan Bailey (Most Outstanding Back), Dani Wright (MVP).

Track and Field – Makayla Chapple (Most Outstanding Grade 9 Female), Cornelius Froese (Most Outstanding Grade 9 Male), Dylan Johnson (Most outstanding Runner), Hayley LePard (Most Outstanding Jumper), Genna Wright (Most Outstanding Thrower).

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe