Current Temperature


July 24, 2024 July 24, 2024

UCP politicians join race to become next leader

Posted on June 29, 2022 by Taber Times

By Ian Croft
Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

With Jason Kenney stepping down as the leader of the United Conservative Party, many other politicians are now moving to take up the mantle of leadership for the party. The official list of candidates that are running for the leadership position within the United Conservative Party at the time of writing is Travis Toews UCP MLA for Grande Prairie-Wapiti, former Finance Minister; Brian Jean, UCP MLA for Fort McMurray, former Leader of the Wildrose; Todd Loewen, Independent MLA for Peace River-Notley, former UCP MLA; Rajan Sawhney, UCP MLA for Calgary-North East, former Transportation Minister; Rebecca Schulz, UCP MLA for Calgary-Shaw, former Children’s Services Minister; Leela Aheer, UCP MLA for Chestermere-Strathmore, former Minister of Culture and Tourism; Danielle Smith, former Wildrose Leader; and Bill Rock, mayor for the Village of Amisk.

Michelle Rempel Garner, MP for Calgary-Nose Hill and Raj Sherman, former leader of the Alberta Liberal Party, are also believed to enter the race, but are still unconfirmed at this point.

All candidates that are officially running for UCP leadership have released public statements declaring their intentions and what they would bring to the table as the new leader.

To read the full story, pick up a Taber Times issue or subscribe to an ePaper digital subscription! You can sign up for digital or traditional subscriptions on by clicking subscribe under ePaper on the home page.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe