Current Temperature


June 5, 2023 June 5, 2023

2021 Municipal Election results

Posted on October 19, 2021 by Taber Times

By Cole Parkinson

Come next Taber town council meeting, there’s going to be a number of new faces sitting at the table. Unofficial Municipal Election results sees incumbent Mayor Andrew Prokop returning to the big chair with 1,058 votes. Ken Holst followed closely with 944 while Rick Popadynetz garnered 138 votes.
For the six councillor chairs, Joanne Sorensen won the popular vote with 1,058, followed by incumbent Carly Firth at 980, Alf Rudd at 959, incumbent Garth Bekkering at 849, Monica McLean with 770, and incumbent Jack Brewin at 749. Just on the outside looking in were Wanda Osburne-Campbell at 723, Daniel Remfert at 684, Pat Bremner at 681, and Mark Garner at 639.
Other candidates garnering votes included John Papp (598), Chad Ross (589), Joe Strojwas (503), Mike Krchnak (316), Lori Pitcher (311), Peter Cunningham (226), and rounding out with Blaine Carlsen (157).
Results will remain unofficial until Oct. 22.

On the M.D. side of things, Division 3 saw Brian Hildebrand elected with 74 votes compared to Frank Kast at 67. In Division 4, incumbent Tamara Miyanaga was re-elected with 108 votes. Billy Wenbourne saw 68 votes in his favour and Ben Elfring amassed 53 votes. In the final race, Division 5 saw John DeGroot elected over incumbent Jen Crowson with 129 votes compared to 96. The municipality saw acclamations earlier in Division 1 (Merrill Harris), Division 2 (John Turcato), Division 6 (Murray Reynolds), and Division 7 (Chantal Bacho).

In the Village of Barnwell, council sees quite a few new faces amongst the five person council. Kent Bullock won the popular vote at 134, and was followed by Debra Hansen (105), Missy Foster (104), Jake Hiebert (99), and Shayla Anderson (89). Rounding out the rest of the ballot was Cornelius Neudorf (85), Lori Jean Fowler (79), Ian Matheson (67), Del Bodnarek (57), and Verl White (55).

In Vauxhall, the town saw eight possible candidates vying for seven seats. The seven who will be sitting at the table at next meeting are incumbent Marilyn Forchuk (134), Shelley Deleeuw (121),  incumbent Ray Coad (115), incumbent Kim Cawley (110), incumbent Margaret Plumtree (110), Kim Egeland (110), and Barry Thompson (82). Incumbent Linda English collected 77 votes to round out the voting in Vauxhall.

For the Horizon School Board of Trustees, there were two races for several seats at the table. In Ward 3 (Taber/Barnwell), Horizon had four candidates running for three spots. Elected in Ward 3 were Maxwell Holst (797), Bruce Francis (753), and Blair Lowry (753). Barbara Nakashima collected 729 votes. In Ward 5 (Milk River/Coutts), two candidates were vying for a single chair. Mandy Court was elected in Ward 5 with 375 votes over Christa Runka (159). Elected to the Horizon School Board by acclimation were Marie Logan (Ward 1), Jen Crowson (Ward 2), and Derek Baron (Ward 4).

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe