Current Temperature


February 21, 2024 February 21, 2024

Town and M.D. set municipal election candidates

Posted on September 22, 2021 by Taber Times

By Cole Parkinson
Taber Times

On Sept. 20 at noon, Nomination Day officially ended which meant candidates vying for a municipal elections seat had to have their names in before that time.

For the Town of Taber, three candidates threw their name into the ring for mayor — Andrew Prokop (incumbent), Ken Holst, and Rick Popadynetz.

Running for one of the available councillor positions are Mark Garner (incumbent), Blaine Carlsen, Monica McLean, Pat Bremner, Wanda Osburne-Campbell, Joe Strojwas (incumbent), Daniel Remfert, Lori Pitcher, Carly Firth (incumbent), Jack Brewin (incumbent), Alf Rudd, Chad Ross, Joanne Sorensen, Garth Bekkering (incumbent), John Papp, Peter Cunningham, and Mike Krchnak.

For more information on the Taber town council election, visit

On the M.D. side, running for Division 1 (Barnwell) is Reeve Merrill Harris (incumbent), Division 2 (Taber) is John Turcato (incumbent), Division 6 (Enchant) is Murray Reynolds (incumbent), and Division 7 (Vauxhall) is Chantal Bacho.

For Division 3 (Grassy Lake), Brian Hildebrand and Frank Kast have put their names forward.

Division 4 (Taber north) sees three names — Tamara Miyanaga (incumbent), Ben Elfring, and Billy Wenbourne.

In Division 5 (Hays), Jennifer Crowson (incumbent) and John DeGroot are vying for the position.

For more information on the M.D. of Taber council election, visit

Election Day is set for Oct. 18.

Advance polling for the Town of Taber is at the Taber Community Centre and goes on Oct. 7 from 4-8 p.m., on Oct. 9 1-5 p.m., Oct. 12 4-8 p.m. and Oct. 14 4-8 p.m.

Voting for M.D. Division 3 is the Grassy Lake Community Hall, Division 4 is the M.D. of Taber council chambers, and Division 5 is the Hays Civic Centre.

Advance polls for Division 3 is set for Oct. 4 from 3-8 p.m., Division 4 is Oct. 7 from 3-8 p.m., and Division 5 is Oct. 5 from 3-8 p.m.

You are eligible to vote if you are 18 years old, a Canadian citizen, you reside in Alberta and are a resident of the Town of Taber or M.D. of Taber division on Election Day, have acceptable voter identification, you have not voted in this election before, and you sign a declaration you meet these requirements.

Voter identification requirements include identification issued by a Canadian government (federal or provincial or local) that contains a photo, name and address, a bank/credit card statement or personal cheque, government cheque or stub, income/property tax assessment notice, insurance policy or coverage card, a letter from a public curator, public guardian or public trustee, pension plan statement of benefits/contributions/participation, residential lease/mortgage statement, statement of government benefits, utility bill, or vehicle ownership/registration/insurance certificate.

A letter or form confirming the person lives at the stated address will also be accepted as valid proof when voting.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe