Current Temperature


May 21, 2024 May 21, 2024

Taber council race heating up with new faces running

Posted on September 25, 2013 by Taber Times

The following are the names of the candidates who have declared their intentions to seek municipal election on Oct. 21, or have been elected by acclamation to their respective wards, divisions or positions.

Town of Taber


Ray Bryant (incumbent)

Henk De Vlieger


Rick Popadynetz (incumbent)

Joe “Luigi” Strojwas

Laura Ross-Giroux

John Papp (incumbent)

Andrew Prokop

Garth Bekkering (incumbent)

Jack Brewin

Randy Sparks (incumbent)

M.D. of Taber

Division 1

Don Johnson (incumbent)

Merrill Harris

Cliff Kenyon

Division 2

Tom Machacek, elected by acclamation

Division 3

Brian Brewin, elected by acclamation

Division 4

Ben Elfring, elected by acclamation

Division 5

Bob Wallace (incumbent)

Wayne Peters

Division 6

Duff Dunsmore, elected by acclamation

Division 7

Dwight Tolton, elected by acclamation

Village of Barnwell


Robin Hansen

Rob Chipman

Jane Jensen

Eric Jensen

John Neufeld

Darrell Turner

Holy Spirit Catholic School Division

Board of Trustees

Ward 5 (Taber)

Pat Bremner, elected by acclamation

Horizon School Division

Board of Trustees

Lomond/Enchant (Ward 1)

Marie Logan, elected by acclamation

Vauxhall/Hays (Ward 2)

Jennifer Crowson, elected by acclamation

Taber/Barnwell (Ward 3)

Bruce Francis (incumbent)

D. Rick Anderson

Blair Lowry

Abe Klassen

Marnie Mouland

Warner/Grassy Lake (Ward 4)

Derek Baron, elected by acclamation

Milk River (Ward 5)

Terry Michaelis, elected by acclamation

Look for candidate profiles in upcoming editions of The Taber Times throughout the election campaign prior to Oct. 21.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe